Seussical the Musical

Seussical was on stage at the Nevis Centre, Fort William on 26th, 27th and 28th March 2015.

Director Susan Munro

Music by Stephen Flaherty Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
Book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
Co-conceived by Eric Idle Based on the works of Dr. Seuss


Seussical is based on the works of popular children’s author Dr. Seuss and weaves together his most famous tales and characters. With the Cat in the Hat as narrator, the show follows the adventures of Horton, an elephant who one day hears voices coming from a speck of dust. He soon discovers that within this tiny speck exists the smallest planet in the universe. On this tiny planet live a tiny race of people known as Whos. Although ridiculed by the other animals in the Jungle of Nool for believing in something he cannot see, Horton ignores the naysayers and promises to protect the Whos.

Seussical is a fantastical journey illustrated by colourful costumes, larger than life set and a wonderful mix of musical styles played by the amazing Showstoppers live orchestra, including Latin, pop, swing, gospel and Rhythm & Blues.

Cast List:

The Cat in the Hat

Fergus Munro

Horton the Elephant

Chris Jones

Gertrude McFuzz

Aileen Green


Maddie Lennon/Katryn Muir

Mayzie La Bird

Sheena Coull

Sour Kangaroo

Amly Leider


Jasmine Adams, Juliet Evans, Sian Angus, Katrina McMillan

The Bird Girls

Clare Brewer, Kelly Follan, Annabel Brayshaw,


Jasmine Adams, Katrina McMillan, Clare Brewer, Sheena Coull,
Jane Angus, Annabel Brayshaw, Kelly Follan, Sian Angus

Mr Mayor

Keith Falconer

Mrs Mayor

Liz Falconer

General Genghis Kahn Schmitz/Yertle

Eric McKenzie


Caitrin Edmond, Stephanie McKenna, Charlotte Cunningham, Beth Fyfe

The Grinch

Kenny Lang


Katrina McMillan, Sian Angus


Jasmine Adams, Charlotte Cunningham, Stephanie McKenna, Caitrin Edmond, Beth Fyfe

The Whos

Samantha Wilson, Jane Angus, Stephanie McKenna, Caitrin Edmond, Karen Hosey, Cameron Falconer, Katryn Muir/Maddie Lennon, Charlotte Cunningham, Beth Fyfe

Who-ville Puppeteers

Carla Berardelli, Heather Millar

Jungle Citizens

Jenni MacInnes, Catherine MacInnes, Gemma MacLeod, Robin Peake, Jennifer Beattie


Musical Director

Susan Munro

Rehearsal Accompanist

Jennifer Skene

Flute, Piccolo

Natalie Brayshaw

Flute, Clarinet, Soprano Sax, Alto Sax

Karen Thomson

Clarinet, Tenor Sax

Melanie Cottam

Eb and Bb Clarinets

Mark Gosling

Baritone Sax

Glen Falconer


Hazel Simmonds, Heather Hook


John Whyte


Lorna Ungoed-Thomas, David Thomson


Sandra Hollingdale


Clare Reynolds


Jamie Hageman

Bass Guitar

Neil Wright


Ruari Edmond


Clair Munro


Amy Gilchrist


Jennifer Skene


Technical Crew:


Susan Munro

Stage Manager

Donnie Munro

Assistant Stage Manager

Morven Henderson


Martin Whyte

Assistant Sound

Christie Heriot

Lighting Programming

Ross McKillop


Mark Boyle, Sean McCartney


Ewan Trotter, Alison Boyle, Brian Dickie, John Wilson, Billy Denney

Set Design

Ali Berardelli

Set Builders/Painters

Ewan Trotter, Juliet Evans, Donnie Munro, Ali Berardelli, Tracy Cameron, Laura Kingswood, Lisa Wharton, Jen Deschenes, Nina Cameron, Mia Deschenes, Leila Berardelli


Jasmine Adams


Sue Hood, Sue Chadney, Lochaber College students


Marie Cameron, Jane & Anthony Angus


Caol Cuts

Make-Up/Face Painting

Liz Lennon, Randi McKenna, Natalie Brayshaw, Ben Lennon, Rachel Ormerod, Club Members

Front of House

Nicola Muir, Diane Creel, Stephen Carruthers, Dominic Dobson, Heather Millar, Carla Berardelli, Kelvin Taylor, Angus Tregaskis, Kshama Wilmington, Hannah Calder


Jane Angus

Programme Cover

Natalie Brayshaw


Clare Brewer, Samantha Wilson, Kim Ferguson

Click here to download Seussical Programme

Photo Gallery